Guru Smt. Sripriya Markandan

Ashtapadi refers to the Sanskrit hymns of the Gita Govinda, composed by Jayadeva in the 12th Century. The ashtapadis, which describe the beauty of Lord Krishna and the love between Krishna and the gopis, are considered a masterpiece in esoteric spirituality and the theme of 'Divine romance'. The literal meaning of ashtapathi, 'eight-steps', refers to the fact that each hymn is made of eight couplets (eight sets of two lines). Although the original tunes of the ashtapadis were lost in history, they remain popular and are widely sung in a variety of tunes, and used in classical dance performances, across India.
                 Here is an opportunity for the enthusiastic learners of carnatic music to learn these verses set to various traditional ragas.

Prerequisite : Should have knowledge of 5 varnams and 10  krithis

No. of sessions : 12

Age: 18 yrs and above

Duration of session : 60 mins

Class size: 3 - 9

Content  : 

  1. Pralayapayodijale – Sourashtram
  2. Shrutha Kamala – Bhairavi
  3. Lalitha Lavanga – Vasantha
  4. Chandana Charchitha – Pantuvarali
  5. Sanchara – Thodi
  6. Nirupama Nikunja - Kambhoji

Disclaimer:  The above list of songs are subject to modifications depending on the student’s abilities.